`Show Me Films’

A folk song/love song–written in 1969–after meeting a member of the 1960s Newsreel group of New Left Movement filmmakers on Staten Island. at an experimental community college’s “Richmond College Social Change Commune”/Richmond College SDS film screening in April 1969.


lyrics\

“Show me films about the wicked world outside
And let me know about the brave rebels who tried
`Cause yes, I realize it’s time for us to fight
And it’s so obvious that your red rap is right.
And let me love you
Kindly rebel dame
And let me hug you
I want you not fame.

“With your microphone come interview my friends
And they’ll tell you why it’s great to be a `head’
But I recognize it’s time to resist the clubs
So if you need a hand, just call me and I’ll come.
Oh, I did know you
The first day I saw you
Oh, let me hold you
Oh, darling, I’ll be true.

“Oh, I just wish that we could make the System fall
That our voices could bring happiness to all
And the people they would suddenly get hip
That the place to jump is on our freedom ship.
And let me kiss you
And let me be your friend
I really missed you
For you’re a sweet woman.”

About protestfolk

Non-commercially-motivated working-class singer-songwriter, who mostly writes non-commercially-motivated topical protest folk songs in the Joe Hill-Guthrie-Ochs tradition. Also a Movement writer/blogger/activist who is not funded by elite foundation money.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment